When Songs Never Leave the Head

I discovered this song called “Chasing You” by Bethel over spring break even though it has been out for a while. I absolutely love it and since it is so catchy I have been singing it in my head for the past three days. The song has a sound that is a lot of fun and full of life.

One of the things I enjoy about the song is the creativity in the lyrics. Now do not get me wrong, it still is a simple song in my book; but for once a song has a vocabulary list longer than four words. Because I noticed this, I take it as a challenge to better myself. If I do not like music that says the same phrase repeatedly; and if I want songs to be like poetry and have depth and meaning, then I should urge myself to write with more meaning and intelligence. It applies to everything really, including the way I speak, how I think and of course ideas for ads.

The other element I liked about the song was the music video. Again, it was creative but still elementary. The lyrics changed over top of a fuzzy background that would flash some colors. The video started from the perspective of someone in a car going down a small, two-lane road in the woods. It changed to a highway later on. I liked that it was so straightforward to its message of chasing someone.

Listen to the song, and if you disagree with my thoughts, below feel free to comment. Tell me a song that inspires you or that is always caught in your head.

Leave a comment